Badges for Scouts to earn

The first badge that a Scout has to earn is their Membership Award. To earn this award, a Scout must know the Promise and Law and the history of Scouting.

There are 69 Activity Badges that a Scout can earn, ranging from Astronomer to Martial Arts to Photographer to Street Sports. Activity Badges can also be earned through external activites and qualifications, so if you think that you have achieved the badge requirements, talk to a Scout Leader.

There are also six staged activity badges, which can be worked on during your entire time in Scouting, from Beaver all the way through to Explorers! These badges are:

  • Emergency Aid
  • Hikes Away
  • Information technology
  • Musician
  • Nights Away
  • Swimmer

You can gain whichever badge you have achieved the requirements for, whatever your age.

Scouts can also earn Challenge Badges, of which there are nine. They are:

  • The Promise Challenge
  • The Outdoor Challenge
  • The Outdoor Plus Challenge
  • The Creative Challenge
  • The Fitness Challenge
  • The Global Challenge
  • The Community Challange
  • The Adventure Challenge
  • The Expedition Challenge

To earn the challenge badges, Scouts are expected to show personal commitment and be fully involved in the challenges. Scouts can earn these badges through trying and learning from experience – not just through achievement alone.

The Chief Scout’s Gold Award is the highest award available in the Scout section. To achieve this, a Scout must complete the following Challenge badges:

  • Promise Challenge
  • Community Challenge
  • Fitness Challenge
  • Create Challenge
  • Global Challenge
  • Outdoor Challenge

Plus two of the following:

  • Adventure Challenge
  • Expedition Challenge
  • Outdoor Plus Challenge.

Badge Placement

Badges should be placed on your Scout uniform as shown below (click to enlarge):

Scout uniform badge placement